Food Service FAQ
Pulled Oats® is currently available in retail supermarkets in Finland and Netherlands. Also we are currently active in the following markets in the Food Service sector: FI, SE, NO, DK, UK, IR, NL, BE, DE, ES and USA.
Are Pulled Oats® and Deli OatBites meat replacements?
If you wish. You can use Pulled Oats instead of minced meat, pulled pork or chicken in most recipes. It has more fibre and protein and a better fat composition than meat. Compared to other plant proteins (such as soy or seitan) it has a firm and tender texture, that soaks up the flavours and gets a nice chewiness. Pulled Oats® is a protein that does not mimic anything, but is a true plant-based alternative that stands on its own. Deli OatBites are plant-based ready-to-eat protein bites that adds intense flavor in every bite. These firm & tasty bites are a quick and easy way to add flavour and nutrition to woks, salads, pizzas, tacos and sandwiches. Deli OatBites can be enjoyed in a variety of dishes and it's the perfect plant-based topping!
How do I prepare Pulled Oats® or Deli OatBites?
The easiest way is to heat it in a frying pan with oil and spices or roast in the oven. Read more about how to prepare Pulled Oats®: https://goldandgreenfoods.com/plant-based-recipe-ideas/ Deli OatBites can be used as such or fried in the pan for two minutes.
How is Pulled Oats® made?
Pulled Oats® is made by mixing, grinding and heating together familiar ingredients from Nordic oats, yellow pea and faba bean. We treat our ingredients with the most respect by processing them as little as possible - the production process of Pulled Oats® is actually similar to a very controlled way of making bread. We work constantly to develop tasty and nutritious products that have a simple ingredient list. We always prefer natural flavouring and have succeeded to replace the most commonly used additives. All Pulled Oats® and Deli OatBites are produced in our factory in Järvenpää, Finland.
Health & Sustainability
Is pulled oats vegan?
Yes, one hundred percent.
Where do the oats and legumes of Pulled Oats grow?
We only use the highest-quality ingredients and source them as locally as possible. Our oats and faba beans grow in the clean Nordic nature and our peas are originated from a responsible manufacturer from Central Europe.
Is Pulled Oats organic?
We want to produce products with a minimal climate impact. We only use the highest-quality ingredients and source them as locally as possible. Unfortunately we can't say that we're one hundred percent organic.
Why do some of the Pulled Oats have a lot of salt?
There is only a moderate amount of added salt in the products. Legumes and oats contain naturally sodium and according to the food law, this sodium should also be indicated as salt. The least salt is in the Nude flavour which has been granted with The Heart Symbol in Finland. The Heart Symbol tells the consumer at a glance that the product marked with this symbol is a better choice in its product group regarding fat (quantity and quality) and salt.
What makes Pulled Oats a perfect protein?
Pulled Oats® is not only rich in protein (30 %), but it also contains all nine essential amino acids, which makes it a so called "complete protein". Pulled Oats is made from the unique combination of oats and legumes and is thereby a high-quality plant protein that is naturally rich in iron, low in saturated fat and contains fibre, potassium and all the essential amino acids. Perfectly delicious, nutritious & easy to use – and on top of all that, good for the planet.
Why are amino acids so important?
Simply put: Amino acids are the building blocks in your body. There are many kinds of amino acids. Most of them can be created by the body itself, but not the nine so called "essential" ones. They need to added to your body, preferably via a delicious meal made of Pulled Oats.
Safety and Allergens
Is pulled oats gluten free?
Unfortunately there's no guarantee for that. The ingredients do not include gluten as such, but the mills we use may also handle wheat or barley. That means our product may contain traces of gluten, but we're talking about less than 0.1%.
Does the product contain any allergens?
Our oats may include <0.1% gluten, because the mills we use may also handle wheat or barley. Pulled Oats is made of pea protein and our spices include for example peppers and tomato.
Is Pulled Oats suitable for kids?
Yes! Both when it comes to nutrition and taste. The kids (1–17 years old) in our test groups have loved it.
Does Pulled Oats contain any preservatives or other e-codes?
No. The ingredient list is short and sweet without any e-codes or other junk.